Chiaraleggetroppo

Venticinque anni e il naso sempre tra le pagine – Chistmas edition!


1 Commento

#36 Teaser Tue—Thursday!

Martedì l’ho saltato, per annunciare l’apertura delle votazione di #ADateWithThePerfectBookFriendqui trovate il post dove votare e qui quello dedicato al mio candidato, Ronan Lynch -, ma oggi non si scampa: è giornata di teaser, rigorosamente spoiler-free e dritto dalle pagine di Gravity, di Melissa West. Ora, lo so di aver più e più volte dichiarato di voler aspettare prima di affrontare anche questa saga, ma cosa vi devo dire? Sono debole e, complice la pubblicazione di Collide tre giorni fa, non ho saputo resistere al richiamo dello sci-fi distopico. E sono stata pure punita, perché devo pure ammettere che per quanto trama e ambientazione siano formidabili, sto faticando per trovare una connessione con i protagonisti. Non so se sia dovuto a una mia mancanza di concentrazione o ad altro, ma continuo ad avere la sensazione che mi sfugga qualcosa di fondamentale. Vedremo come va a finire, nel frattempo vi lascio con l’estratto!

And then we’re alone, Jackson and me, watching each other, both unsure of what to say next. I walk back toward my house, knowing I don’t have long before Mom calls me inside, and sit down on the porch swing that hangs below our deck. Jackson stops in front of me, close enough so when I rock forward our knees touch.
“What happened today? Everything was fine last night. What happened? Was it the attacks? Do you feel like I’m…” He runs a hand through his hair.
I look up at him, fully absorbing him. “No. It isn’t that. It’s… I don’t know. I just feel so unsure.”
“We’ll get the strategy, Ari. Don’t worry. We’ll get it.”
I clear my throat and glance away. “That’s not what I’m unsure of.”
He seems to consider this for a moment, then kneels on the ground in  front of me so we’re eye to eye. “I remember when this happened,” he says, brushing a finger over a large scar on my left knee. “You were ten and carelessly walking on the edge of your bed with socks on. You slipped and sliced your knee open on the bed corner.”
“How do you…?”
“Five stitches if I remember.” He raises his eyebrows.
“But they were useless because it was all better the next morning. I told my mom I had superpowers. She let me pretend to heal her for the rest of the week.” I smile at the memory, and then realization hits. “It was you, wasn’t it?”
“And this one,” he says, pointing to a tiny scar on my elbow, “happened a year ago. That one worried me. What were you doing on the roof, anyway? You slipped and fell into that big oak over there. You could have broken something, but instead just got a large gash on your arm.”
“Why did you do it? Heal me, I mean.”
“I’ve always looked out for you.”

In the future, only one rule will matter.
Don’t. Ever. Peek.
Seventeen-year-old Ari Alexander just broke that rule and saw the last person she expected hovering above her bed — arrogant Jackson Locke, the most popular boy in her school. She expects instant execution or some kind of freak alien punishment, but instead, Jackson issues a challenge: help him, or everyone on Earth will die.
Ari knows she should report him, but everything about Jackson makes her question what she’s been taught about his kind. And against her instincts, she’s falling for him. But Ari isn’t just any girl, and Jackson wants more than her attention. She’s a military legacy who’s been trained by her father and exposed to war strategies and societal information no one can know — especially an alien spy, like Jackson. Giving Jackson the information he needs will betray her father and her country, but keeping silent will start a war.

[GoodReads]